Skip to main content

Tel. +49 89 210 98 60


11–14 September 2019 · Budapest Congress Center · Hungary

The Paediatric IBD Porto Group


The European Society for Paediatric Gastroenterology Hepatology and Nutrition (ESPGHAN) is a multi-professional organisation whose aim is to promote the health of children with special attention to the gastrointestinal tract, liver and nutritional status, through knowledge creation, the dissemination of science based information, the promotion of best practice in the delivery of care and the provision of high quality education for paediatric gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition professionals in Europe and beyond.


ESPGHAN has three standing committees focusing on gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition. All of these committees aim to promote child health and increase understanding and treatment of disease states. ESPGHAN members are also involved in various working groups that are linked to the appropriate standing committee and concentrate on particular aspects of child care and / or disease states.

Additionally, the Allied Health Professional Committee aims to enhance the multidisciplinary approach in Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition in Europe, and the Trainee Committee promotes and supports specialist training and guides trainees towards full membership of ESPGHAN.

Other committees within ESPGHAN include the following: Ethics, Finance, International Affairs and Publications.

The ESPGHAN Council:

PresidentRaanan Shamir, Israel
President ElectSanja Kolacek, Croatia
General SecretaryJorge Amil Dias, Portugal
TreasurerAnnamaria Staiano, Italy
Education Secretary Iva Hojsak, Croatia
International Affairs RepresentativeChristina Almuthe Hauer, Austria
Scientific SecretaryMatthias Zilbauer, United Kingdom
Gastroenterology CommitteeNikhil Thapar, United Kingdom
Hepatology CommitteeHenkjan Verkade, Netherlands
Nutrition CommitteeMagnus Domellöf, Sweden
Allied Health ProfessionalsJackie Falconer, United Kingdom
Young ESPGHAN CommitteeNathalie Rock, Switzerland
Chair of LOCRichard Russell, United Kingdom